About

What we do

RuVasa (Livestock Health and Production group) is a special interest group of SAVA (the South African Veterinary Association).
Membership is open to all members of the South African Veterinary Association. Associate membership available – please enquire from the LHPG office on 012 346 1590. Current members are dispersed throughout the country, working as private veterinarians, state veterinarians and lecturers at Universities.

Aims, vision and mission of the RuVasa (Livestock Health and Production group)

Vision

To render the most cost-effective professional service to the livestock industry.

Mission

Define, develop and market veterinary services that will enhance:

  • cost-effective animal production
  • quality of animal products
  • the value of animal products

AIMS OF RuVasa (Livestock Health and Production group)

  • To function in conjunction with the South African Veterinary Association.
  • To work within the framework of the South African Veterinary Association in the interest of veterinarians involved in the livestock industry.
  • To promote cost-effective health and production amongst all livestock in Southern Africa.
  • To promote the image of veterinarians to the farmer and livestock producer as a professional employed in all aspects of health and production in the industry.
  • To liaise with all parties concerned with livestock production and to promote closer co-operation between these parties.
  • To act as a unified voice for the livestock veterinarians.
  • To promote research and provide continuing education in the field of livestock health and production.
  • To liaise and work with similar groups internationally.

Directors:

Dr S Hughes | Dr D Holm | Dr T Ogelsby | Dr F Malan

 

RuVASA Central committee members as at September 2016

Chairman (Dir) Stephen Hughes 082 894 3568 shughes.vet@gmail.com
Vice Chairperson (Dir) Trish Oglesby 034 341 1005 | 083 627 6527 trish.oglesby@gmail.com
Finance   (Dir) Dietmar Holm 072 437 4724 dietmar.holm@up.ac.za
CEO (Dir) Faffa Malan 082 908 8666 dokfaffa@nashuaisp.co.za
Regional
Eastern Cape & Karoo Branch Alf Lategan 079 592 0146 alflategan@gmail.com
Western Cape Branch Gordon Adam 083 287 7782 drjgadam@gmail.com
Southern Cape Martino Truter 072 699 4600 mtruter6@gmail.com
Eastern Free State Branch Liesel Wasserman 078 457 9824 liezel@clocvet.co.za
Southern Free State /Northern Cape Didi van Rensburg 072 279 1880 Didi.jv.rensburg@gmail.com
KZN Stephen Hughes 082 920 0299 shughes.vet@gmail.com   (to be filled)
Mpumalanga Hardus Pieters 082 551 5053 Hardus@bethalvet.co.za
Northern KZN /Midlands Simon Dommett 082 775 8535 simon@waterfordfarm.co.za
Oranje-Vaal Branch Johan Coertze  johan@invitroafrica.com 
Limpopo Dario Cremona 083 675 8002 dariocrem@gmail.com
Dr. Johan Coertze:
Co-opted
Co-opted: SAVSEG Fanie Steyn drfanie@ramsem.com drfaniesteyn@gmail.com
Co-opted: V-plan Danie Odendaal 082 454 0532 vnet@absamail.co.za
Co-opted: Gauteng Gareth Bath 082 802 2526 gareth.bath@up.ac.za
Co-opted: Congress Committee William Jenkins  weljenkins@gmail.com
Ariena Shepard
Trish Oglesby
Co-opted State Vacant  proposed Mpho Maya
Maarten Labuschagne/Mariette v Aarde 082 656 5040 produksiedier@gmail.com
Co-opted CCS Vet to be filled
Co-opted Student representatives Nadine Nagel 072 731 0894 nagelnadene@gmail.com